Frequently Asked Questions

For Teens and Adults

Select your age group:

Questions? We can help!

FAQ's Adults

For Ages 18 & Older | TDLR #C2603

FAQ for Adults (ages 18 & older)

Is Adult Drivers Ed required?

Texas law requires ages 18-24 to complete a six hour Adult Drivers Ed course before obtaining a license.

What If I'm older than 25?

Ages 25 – 65 are ELIGIBLE and encouraged to complete this course. You will also gain credit for taking the written exam online and you will be waived from taking it at DPS office.

Applicants who taking the written exam at DPS only have ONE ATTEMPT to pass. For this reason, most adults 25 and older rather take it online.

Does the course include the DPS written exam?

Yes! Our Adult Drivers Ed course includes the official DPS written exam. We will send your a permit certificate once you complete the first six(6) hours of the course.

How many attempts do I have to pass?

You have three attempts (3). State law allows applicants who complete the adult course to have 3 attempts to pass written exam. If you do not pass the written exam on the third attempt; state law requires you to restart the course from the beginning and pay the fee once again.

Must I complete course all in one day?

Not at all. In fact, you will be able to stop and resume course as needed. You can complete course up to 90 days from purchase.

What happens after passing written exam?
Step 1: Complete first six(6) hours of DrivingQuest course.
Step 2: Submit permit certificate to DPS
Items Needed:
  • ADE-1317 Certificate (DrivingQuest)
  • ITYD Certificate (Impact course)
  • Social Security Card & Birth Certificate
  • Two(2) utility bills showing proof of address.
Step 3Finish remaining hours of DrivingQuest course.
Step 4: Complete ITTD course (Impact Texas Teen Driver)
Step 6: PASS DRIVING TEST & Get License!
When will I receive my certificate?

Certificates are emailed within 1-2 hours after completing. If you did not receive your certificate via email please contact 877.900.0030.

What is ITYD course?

Impact Texas Young Driver (ITYD) is a new course implemented in 2017 that required all adults 18+ to get a license.

Texas Adult Drivers Ed

  • DPS/TDLR Approved

  • Complete course 100% online

  • Emailed certificate delivery

  • Fast and Easy

Enroll Now

FAQ's Teens

For Ages 14 - 17 | TDLR #C2603

FAQ Teens (ages 14-17)

What is Parent Taught?

Parent Taught Drivers Ed is alternative method rather than Driving School. Students will complete classroom hours with DrivingQuest and the behind the wheel hours with Mom and/or Dad.

What is the Parent-Instructor requirements?
  • The instructor must be the student’s parent, step-parent, grandparent, step-grandparent, foster parent or legal guardian appointed by a court. A power of attorney is not considered a legal guardian. Additionally, a parent, legal guardian, or a judge of a court with jurisdiction over the student can designate a person to instruct the course who:
    • is at least 25 years old;
    • does not charge a fee for conducting the course; and
    • has at least seven years of driving experience.
  • The instructor must have a valid driver license for the prior three years.
  • Instructors cannot have:
    • a conviction (including a probated sentence) of criminally negligent homicide
    • a conviction (including a probated sentence) of driving while intoxicated in the last seven years
    • had their driver license suspended, revoked or forfeited for traffic related violations in the past three years; or
    • six or more points assigned to their driver license.
What ages can take this course?

Students ages 14-17 are eligible to take Parent-Taught Drivers Ed/Teen Drivers Ed.  Parents Instructor can also be a family friend or relative who is at least 25 years of age and has had a valid driver license for the past 7 years.

Does the course include written exam?

Yes! Our course includes the official DPS written exam. We will send your a permit certificate once you complete the first six(6) hours of the course.

How many hours can I complete in one day?

State law allows teens to complete a maximum of two(2) hours of class instruction per day.

What happens after passing written exam?
Step 1: Complete first six(6) hours of DrivingQuest course.
Step 2: Submit permit certificate to DPS
Items Needed:
  • ADE-1317 Certificate (DrivingQuest)
  • ITYD Certificate (Impact course)
  • Social Security Card & Birth Certificate
  • Two(2) utility bills showing proof of address.
Step 3Finish remaining hours of DrivingQuest course.
Step 4: Complete ITTD course (Impact Texas Teen Driver)
Step 6: PASS DRIVING TEST & Get License!
Will I receive permit certificate after first six hours?

Yes. Your permit certificate will be issued out within 1-2 hours after completing Unit 6. If you did not receive your certificate via email please contact 877.900.0030.

What is ITTD course?

Impact Texas Teen Driver course – is a 2 hour course required after completing the 32 hour classroom course and 44 hours of behind the wheel training. BUT this course must be complete BEFORE the road test.

FAQ Teens (Ages 14-17)

What is Teen Drivers Ed Online?

Teen Drivers Ed Online (Instructor Taught Drivers Ed) – Satisfied the 32 hour classroom instruction requirement only. The 14 hours of behind-the-wheel training MUST be complete with a local driving school in your area. Keep in mind that you are still responsible for paying the driving school fees.

What ages can take this course?

Students ages 14-17 are eligible to take Parent-Taught Drivers Ed/Teen Drivers Ed.  Parents Instructor can also be a family friend or relative who is at least 25 years of age and has had a valid driver license for the past 7 years.

Does the course include written exam?

Yes! Our course includes the official DPS written exam. We will send your a permit certificate once you complete the first six(6) hours of the course.

What is a VOE?

Verification of Enrollment – is a legal form obtained through the students high school attendance office that proves the students successful attendance.

How many hours can I complete in one day?

State law allows teens to complete a maximum of two(2) hours of class instruction per day.

What happens after passing written exam?
Step 1: Complete first six(6) hours of DrivingQuest course.
Step 2: Submit permit certificate to DPS
Items Needed:
  • ADE-1317 Certificate (DrivingQuest)
  • ITYD Certificate (Impact course)
  • Social Security Card & Birth Certificate
  • Two(2) utility bills showing proof of address.
Step 3Finish remaining hours of DrivingQuest course.
Step 4Finish Driving hours with a local driving school.
Step 4: Complete ITTD course (Impact Texas Teen Driver)
Step 6: PASS DRIVING TEST & Get License!
Will I receive permit certificate after first six hours?

Yes. Your permit certificate will be issued out within 1-2 hours after completing Unit 6. If you did not receive your certificate via email please contact 877.900.0030.in 1-2 hours after completing. If you did not receive your certificate via email please contact 877.900.0030.

What is ITTD course?

Impact Texas Teen Driver course – is a 2 hour course required after completing the 32 hour classroom course and 44 hours of behind the wheel training. BUT this course must be complete BEFORE the road test.

Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed

  • DPS/TDLR Approved

  • Complete course 100% online

  • Emailed certificate delivery

  • Fast and Easy

Enroll Now

DrivingQuest has helped over 50,000 Texans obtain their license!