10 Things to Know about Online Drivers Ed in Texas
When it comes time to get your first driver’s license, you can pursue the traditional routes of taking classes in a high school (If you are a teen) or attending a private driving school in person, but did you know you have another option? Online driver’s education is an increasingly popular, and extremely convenient, way to prepare for your driving test. Here is a look at 10 of the most important questions you may have about this exciting option.
What do I need for driver’s ed in Texas if I am a teenager?
Texas requires every teenager under the age of 18 to complete a two-part education: A classroom portion and behind-the-wheel training.
The classroom portion of training must consist of 32 hours of relevant education. This education may be delivered through a school, private classroom, or an online course, such as any of those offered by Driving Quest.
The on-the-road training consists of at least 7 hours of instruction behind the wheel, 7 hours of driving observation, and 30 hours of additional practice including at least 10 hours of night driving. This training can be accomplished through approved supervision or through a driving school.
What do I need for driver’s ed in Texas if I am over the age of 18?
Adults between the ages of 18 and 24 have fewer driving education requirements. The state only requires them to complete a 6-hour driving course before taking their written DPS exam and completing their road test. No on-the-road training minimums are required. Individuals who fall into this category can complete this course either through a driving school or through an adult online driver’s education course such as that provided at Driving Quest.
Do you need to take adult driver’s ed in Texas if you are over 25 years of age?
Anyone younger than 25 years of age must complete the state’s classroom and (if a teen) behind-the-wheel training portions of driving education before they can take their road test and get their driver’s license.
Individuals who are 25 years of age or older, however, are not subject to these same requirements. They simply need to pass the written exam and the road test.
However, an online adult driving education course in Texas can still be a good idea. Here is a look at some of the biggest benefits of taking a driver’s ed course even if you are over 25:
- Gain knowledge to pass your written test.
- Gain confidence.
- Learn important driving basics, including accident avoidance, road rules, and car safety features.
- Learn tips for how to drive in challenging conditions.
How many hours of online driver’s ed do you need in Texas?
If you choose to take online driver’s ed in Texas, you will need to complete the same amount of hours as if you took your course in the classroom. This means that you will need to complete a total of 32 hours of driving education before you can get your driver’s license, plus the 44 hours of on-the-road experience required by the state, if you are a teen. If you are between the ages of 18 and 24, you will need to complete a 6-hour online adult driving education course approved by the state of Texas.
How does online driver’s ed work in Texas?
An online driving course in Texas typically helps you to fulfill the 32 or 6 hours of classroom instruction required by Texas as part of your driving preparation.
If you are a teen, you complete the first 6 hours of the course and then take your written exam to earn your learner’s permit before completing the remainder of the course. If you are an adult, you complete the course’s 6 hours of instruction before taking the written DPS exam.
Because your curriculum is online, you can study at your own pace while completing your driving practice. Once your curriculum is complete and your DPS written exam is passed, you can print out a certificate to take to DPS on the day of your driving test.
Is online driver’s ed allowed in Texas?
The Texas Department of Safety allows you to take online driving education courses in the state. However, not every course is created equal.
In order to ensure that you receive the best preparation for your written exam, you need to choose a course, like any of those offered here at Driving Quest, that is certified and approved by DPS and the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).
TDLR/DPS approval of a course gives you the following benefits:
- Material that prepares you well for your written exams
- Enough hours to satisfy state requirements
- The ability to take your written exam at home
- A certificate of completion that will be accepted at your driving test
- Peace of mind that you are receiving preparation that meets Texas state requirements
What is the cost of driver’s ed online in Texas?
The cost of your Texas online driver’s ed course will vary depending upon which course you choose. Typically, courses for adults are less expensive than courses for teenagers, but all courses are usually very affordable. At Driving Quest, you can expect to pay less than $300 for any of our courses, making a convenient online driver’s ed course easy to fit into the budget.
What are the benefits of taking online driver’s ed in Texas?
Taking a driver’s ed online course in Texas that is state-approved has a number of benefits for any student of any age. Here are some of the most important.
Most online driver’s ed courses cost less than paying for a course at a driving school.
With online driver’s ed courses, you can access the curriculum at any time and study at your own pace. At Driving Quest, we give you 45 days to complete your course, which is less than an hour a day devoted to your driving education.
Prepare for and take your written exam at home. No need to spend hours in a classroom or travel to sit for your exam. And, at Driving Quest, you get 3 attempts to pass your exam, which makes it even easier to get ready for your driving test.
How do I complete the driving portion of my education if I take an online driver’s ed course?
An online driver’s ed course in Texas cannot provide you with the driving portion of your preparation. In order to complete your on-the-road training, you will need to either complete your driving portion of your education with an approved supervisor or you will need to enroll in a driving school.
What is the best online driver’s ed in Texas?
The best online driver’s education courses in Texas will provide you with the flexibility and preparation you need to succeed in your goal of earning a Texas driver’s license. Here are some of the features the best courses will offer you:
- State-approved material
- Opportunity to take DPS written exam at home
- Multiple opportunities to pass your written exam
- Flexible scheduling
- Affordable prices
- Strong reputation
- Prompt delivery of certificate
- Audio and video content
- Bilingual content
If you are looking for a convenient, state-approved online driving education course for Texas, then Driving Quest might just be the right choice for you. Our multiple course options are ideal for teens and adults. Our defensive driving course is accepted by all courts, and every single one of our courses meets state requirements to get you on the road faster. Ready to learn more? Contact us today!