DrivingQuest Student Enrollment Contract for Teens ages 14-17
Texas law requires any student enrolling in a driver education program to agree and enter into a contract with our online course. Please read through this contract and acknowledge that you understand and agree to the conditions of taking a driver education course in Texas.
You are enrolling in an online Teen Drivers Ed course, which consists of 32 units in total. Each instructional unit is equivalent to 60 minutes of online instruction. The STUDENT is allowed to stop, exit, and reenter the course at any time and resume the course. The STUDENT must complete the course within 180 days of successful enrollment. If the student does not finish the course within 180 days; the STUDENT is required to pay an administration fee of $50. The STUDENT has access to the course 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Should the STUDENT question about the course, they will have access to one of our instructors Monday through Friday 10 am – 7 pm. This access may be affected by any circumstances DRIVINGQUEST has no control of, such as bad Internet connections, storms, natural disasters, etc.
The STUDENT can pay for the course with a credit card, electronic check, or PayPal. As soon as the transaction is verified, the STUDENT will proceed with the personal validation questions and start the course. NO CHECKS OR MONEY ORDER IS ALLOWED AT THIS TIME.
Any enrollment purchased on or after Jan 21, 2022, will not be required to pay a transfer fee. Transfer documents will be provided via a complimentary email. Any accounts purchased before Jan 21, 2022, will be required to pay a transfer fee. The STUDENT agrees to pay for any transfer(s) accompanied to their program. Our standard transfer fee is $29.95. The transfers include, but are not limited to:
• Documents mailed out to the driving school of preference for completion of driver education.
• Driving School Method to Parent Taught Method
• Parent Taught to Driving School Method
The STUDENT agrees to complete all 32 units that are aligned with the Program of Organized Instruction provided by the Texas Education Agency to receive a certificate of completion. The STUDENT acknowledges that he/she must receive a 70% or higher in each unit to proceed with the next unit. If the STUDENT fails a unit, he or she is required to restart that unit from the beginning. The STUDENT acknowledges that he/she must score a 70% or higher on the final comprehensive exam to receive the certificate of completion. If the STUDENT fails the final exam three times, he or she must restart the course from the beginning. The student WILL be required to pay again for failing the final exam more than THREE (3) times.
To verify the identity of the student, DRIVINGQUEST may: Require the student to answer personal validation questions randomly throughout the course. These questions and answers will be presented to the STUDENT before beginning the course. The STUDENT and PARENTS acknowledge that the name given on the enrollment will be the name printed on the certificate. NO ALIAS/NICKNAMES ALLOWED. Students’ legal names should reflect those printed on their social security card and/or birth certificate. Any misrepresentation of the student’s name and/or identity will result in disqualification from the course.
A full refund will be made to any student who cancels the enrollment contract before midnight of the third day, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays, after the enrollment contract is signed by the prospective student, unless the student has started or completed the course; and/or received the certificate of completion during that period. There is a $26 non-refundable fee if the course has been activated and started.
• Refund computations will be based on actual instruction received through the last date of attendance.
• If tuition is collected in advance of entrance and, if after the expiration of the 72- hour cancellation privilege, the student does not enter school, terminates enrollment, or withdraws, the school may retain up to $50 as administrative expenses; and, from the remainder, shall refund that portion of the classroom tuition and fees and behind-the-wheel tuition and fees for services not previously received by the student.
• A full refund of all tuition and fees is due and refundable in each of the following cases: (a) when an enrollee is not accepted by the school; (b) if the course of instruction is discontinued by the school at this location; or (c) if the student’s enrollment was procured as a result of any misrepresentation in advertising, promotional materials of the school, or misrepresentation by the owner or representation of the school.
• Refunds shall be completed within 30 days after the effective date of termination.
Change of Course Policy
Should the student need to change their current course for the following, but not limited to: change of language, and/or change of type, of course, the student will be required to pay a transfer fee. Change of course fee(s) is shown and included under “My Info” within the student’s dashboard.
The STUDENT agrees that he/she has been furnished with the school’s tuition and fees; cancellation and refund policy; and school regulations about refunds, grading policy, progress, and rules of operation and conduct. The STUDENT realizes that any grievances not resolved by the school may be forwarded to TDLR P O BOX 12157 AUSTIN TX 78711. Telephone: (800) 803-9202 or 512-463-6599. This agreement constitutes the entire contract between the school and the student and no verbal assurances or promises not contained herein shall bind the school or the student. DRIVINGQUEST is prohibited from issuing a DE-964 if the student has not met all of the requirements for course completion, and the student should not accept a DE-964 under such circumstances.
-Notice to Parents and Guardians-
As the parent or guardian of a teenager, you are entitled to know the minimum requirements of a teen driver education course.
• There are thirty-two (32) required hours of online classroom instruction. Your teen must attend the first six (6) hours of online classroom instruction before a learner’s permit will be issued by DPS. Only two (2) hours of scheduled classroom instruction are permitted per day.
• The classroom instruction phase shall be completed within the timelines stated in this contract and all 32 hours must be attended and successfully completed. If a student fails to successfully complete the 32 classroom hours, DrivingQuest is required to contact DPS and cancel the learner’s permit.
• Seven (7) clock hours of in-car driving instruction and an additional seven (7) clock hours of in-car observation are required. A two-hour increment of behind-the-wheel instruction may be offered once during the behind-the-wheel phase of instruction for each student.
• Thirty (30) additional clock hours of behind-the-wheel instruction must be provided to young drivers and certified by a parent or guardian before a teenager may progress to Phase 2 of the Texas Graduated Driver Licensing program.
If your teen transfers to another school or driver training program, timelines may change and credits for classroom and/or in-car training may not be transferable to the new driver training school.
The entire driver education course must be completed within the timelines stated in this contract. IF YOU HAVE REASON TO BELIEVE THAT THESE MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS ARE NOT BEING MET OR HAVE A COMPLAINT, PLEASE CONTACT TDLR, Customer Service 800-803-9202 or 512-463-6599. www.tdlr.texas.gov